Mazda Again Captures Daytona Pole Position

Jarvis drives to second straight pole position, Bomarito third in qualifying for Rolex 24 at Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (January 23, 2020) – For the second straight year, Oliver Jarvis has claimed pole position for the Rolex 24 at Daytona in the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P.

His time of 1:33.711 around Daytona International Speedway nearly eclipsed his own course record set in qualifying for the 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona. This is Jarvis’ fourth pole position in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and second straight pole position at Daytona. Teammate Jonathan Bomarito qualified in third position in the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P, with a time of 1:34.169 around Daytona International Speedway.

Jarvis will share the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P with Tristan Nunez and Olivier Pla for the Rolex 24 at Daytona, while Bomarito will share the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P with Harry Tincknell and Ryan Hunter-Reay. Bomarito and Tincknell are chasing their third victory in the Mazda RT24-P, while Jarvis, Nunez and Pla are chasing their second.

The broadcast for the Rolex 24 at Daytona will begin on NBC on Saturday, January 25 at 1:30 p.m. ET before moving to NBC Sports and the NBC Sports App before finishing again on NBC on Sunday, January 24 at 12 p.m. ET. The race is also available in its entirety on TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site is protected by