Rolex 24 at Daytona Race Report

rolex_24_hours_logo-2014Scott Dixon scored his second career victory in the Rolex 24, the 24-hour road race that ended Sunday at Daytona International Speedway.

Dixon brought the No. 02 Ford EcoBoost DP to victory lane, and fellow IndyCar Series driver Tony Kanaan and NASCAR’s Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurray went there with him.

Kanaan had never won the race. It was the sixth time one of Chip Ganassi’s cars won in nine years of trying.

The winners get Rolex watches.

“I’ve always bought them,” Kanaan said. “Now I get one for free.”

McMurray became just the third driver to have won the Daytona 500 and the Rolex 24. The others: A.J. Foyt and Mario Andretti.

The reigning champion team, Action Express Racing, which included Sebastien Bourdais, finished second.

Dixon drove the final 3 hours, 30 minutes, capped by a restart with 7-plus minutes left. He won with Dan Wheldon and Casey Mears in 2006.

The other Ganassi car, led by Scott Pruett and including Sage Karam and Charlie Kimball, finished seventh in the Prototype class (25th overall).

Also in Prototype, cars involving Ryan Hunter-Reay and James Hinchcliffe retired early — 39th and 49th overall, respectively.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site is protected by