Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins the Milwaukee IndyFest

Ryan Hunter-Reay is the winner of today’s Milwaukee IndyFest at the Milwaukee Mile, driving the Team DHL / Sun Drop Citrus Soda Chevrolet for Andretti Autosport. Hunter-Reay started from the 2nd position.

“I’m happy to be here in DHL Victory Circle,” said Hunter-Reay. “That was so much work. I think that was one of the most physical races I’ve ever driven. I was just hanging onto it the whole time. The car was awesome; the DHL / Sun Drop guys did a great job. Firestone does a great job of making these races racier and making it more interesting for the fans. The tires did fall off a bit, but they’re so reliable, you have the grip when you need it, and it was there for me all the way to the end.”

This is the sixth career Indy car victory for Hunter-Reay, a 31-year-old resident of Fort Lauderdale, Fla. He has now won twice at Milwaukee, previously winning the 2004 Champ Car race by winning the pole and leading every lap.

This is his third win with Andretti Autosport, and is his third consecutive season with a victory. He extends his distinction of being the winningest active American driver in the IndyCar Series.

His previous IZOD IndyCar Series victories were: New Hampshire (2011/Andretti Autosport), Long Beach (2010/Andretti Autosport) and Watkins Glen (2008/Rahal Letterman Racing). He also has victories in the CART/Champ Car Series at Milwaukee and Surfer’s Paradise.

Hunter-Reay has been the top-finishing American driver in the IZOD IndyCar Series points the last two seasons. Hunter-Reay is the only driver to score victories in IZOD IndyCar, CART Champ Car, Grand-Am and the American Le Mans series.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site is protected by wp-copyrightpro.com