Iowa INDYCAR 250s Race Preview

  • Length: 0.875 miles
  • Turns: 4
  • Type: Oval
  • Race Distance: 218.75 miles
  • Race Laps: 250 laps
  • Green Flag: 8:30 p.m. ET

“Night races at Iowa have always been some of the best INDYCAR racing, and the fans have always turned up to support us. We’re looking forward to being back for two races under the lights, and are really focused on getting the 28 DHL team back to winning. We’ll be fighting for win #4 on this short oval.”

This weekend’s Iowa INDYCAR 250s will be the second straight weekend that the NTT INDYCAR SERIES will conduct doubleheader races, but the first at an oval since 2011. There have been 10 previous oval doubleheaders in INDYCAR history, the most recent being the Firestone Twin 275s at Texas Motor Speedway in June 2011. But Iowa will be the first to host races on consecutive days. Other oval tracks to host INDYCAR same-day doubleheaders are Langhorne Speedway (1968), Autodromo Ciudad de Rafaela (Argentina) (1971), Trenton Speedway (1973-74), Ontario Motor Speedway (1973-75) and Atlanta Motor Speedway (1979 and 1981). Ryan Hunter-Reay holds the record for the most NTT INDYCAR SERIES wins at Iowa Speedway with three victories [2012, 2014, 2015] around the 7/8-mile short oval.

Qualifying for the doubleheader weekend will feature a unique single car format. The speed from Lap 1 of the two-lap qualifying run will determine the the starting grid for Friday’s Iowa INDYCAR 250 Race 1. Driver’s lap speed from Lap 2 will determine the order of the grid for Saturday’s Iowa INDYCAR 250 Race 2.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site is protected by